Shane Ghostkeeper Announces Debut Solo Album 'Songs for My People'

Watch a video for new single "I Know How"

BY Emilie Richardson-DupuisPublished May 18, 2023

Shane Ghostkeeper of Ghostkeeper fame has announced a new solo album, Songs for My People, out July 28 via Victory Pool. He has also shared a new song, "I Know How," the second release from the upcoming album after "Hunger Strike."

The country and western sound of Songs for My People deviates from the indie rock of his parent band, and pays homage to the music he heard growing up in Northern Alberta Métis communities of Paddle Prairie, High Level and Rocky Lane.

"The concept of this record is to present, as a gift to my people, an exploration of the country & western and roots records they surrounded me with since childhood," said Ghostkeeper in a press release.

Ghostkeeper said of "I Know How," a playful song about two-stepping: "This song is a prayer for redemption to the country music god of the dance floor. May one of these two left feet turn; To right this two-stepping wrong."

See the Sarah Houle-directed music video for "I Know How" below, where you can also find the album's tracklist.

Songs for My People:

1. Into the Night
2. Hunger Strike
3. Sunbeam
4. I Know How
5. One More Name
6. V Chill
7. Uncle John
8. Ghost
9. Why Do I Hide
10. Just a Closer Walk with Thee

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage