Omega Mighty Announces Sophomore Album 'Notorious & Noble,' Shares "Poblano"

The nine-track collection from the Torontonian is due October 6

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Sep 8, 2023

Toronto dancehall and R&B-fusion artist Omega Mighty has announced her sophomore album, previewed today by new single "Poblano."

Notorious & Noble arrives October 6. It follows 2021's Me & Youforia and features collaborations with her sister, acclaimed rapper Haviah Mighty, as well as local R&B rising star Zenesoul.

"I really want to promote the unseen, unheard and disrupt the status quo of popular styles of music by showing that mainstream music can be multi-genre, it can have powerful messaging and it can be heavily influenced by culture," Mighty said in a press release. "My goal was to collaborate with other powerful Black women and women of colour, to help drive the message. It's almost a 'holistic' approach, if you will, to share the lived experiences of Black women and women-identifying people of colour through my lens, and those of my peers, with tones of reflection, empowerment and triumph."

She continued: 

Notorious & Noble is significant not only to my personal growth but also to my growth as an artist, as it highlights my lived experiences as a young Black woman, born and raised in Canada from immigrant parents, within Caribbean culture. The duality of my upbringing has left me feeling displaced for a long time, not being fully accepted as a true Canadian nor as a Caribbean. Through this self-discovery journey, I have created art that sounds and feels as unique as my lived experience. The intent is to unify people of the African and Caribbean diaspora all over the world, providing room for acceptance in western society through education and appreciation of our differences.

Multilingual new single "Poblano" sees Mighty join forces with Toronto's Melxdie and longtime producer Taabu, as well as Vicky R, bridging the language gap between English, Jamaican patois, French and Spanish.

Listen to the song below, where you'll also find the album tracklist.

Notorious & Noble:

1. Shoreline
2. Temporary Baby (feat. Zenesoul)
3. Rush Dem (feat. Haviah Mighty)
4. Gi Dem
5. Stovetop
6. Badgirl Workout
7. Poblano (feat. Vicky R, Melxdie, Taabu)
8. Mankind
9. Runaway

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage