Nubya Garcia Announces New Album 'Odyssey' with Georgia Anne Muldrow, Esperanza Spalding

Hear "The Seer" from the saxophonist's latest

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jun 14, 2024

Nubya Garcia has detailed her third album. The London-born saxophonist and composer will share Odyssey on September 20 via Concord Jazz.

Following 2020's acclaimed, Mercury Prize-nominated album Source, the 12-track Odyssey is said to be bigger and bolder in its approach, with the artist orchestrating strings for the first time and "painstakingly studying a vast array of orchestral sounds."

The album features collaborations with Georgia Anne Muldrow, Esperanza Spalding and Richie Seivwright, while collaborator Kwes returns to co-produce alongside Garcia. The saxophonist's band includes Joe Armon-Jones (keyboards), Daniel Casimir (bass) and Sam Jones (drums).

Describing Odyssey, Garcia says of her latest, "It represents the notion of truly being on your own path, and trying to discard all the outside noise saying you should go this way or that way."

"The Seer" is the first song to arrive from Odyssey, and you can hear the charging cut in the player below. Garcia shares that the energetic song is about "wishing that you could get a peek at the future, or even just gathering some guidelines in your own future so that you could know that you're on the right path."

Last year, Garcia appeared on a live album with recent Exclaim! cover stars Khruangbin.

Pre-save and pre-order Odyssey.


1. Dawn (feat. Esperanza Spalding)
2. Odyssey
3. Solstice
4. Set It Free (feat. Richie Seivwright)
5. The Seer
6. Odyssey (Outerlude)
7. We Walk in Gold (feat. Georgia Anne Muldrow)
8. Water's Path
9. Clarity
10. In Other Words, Living
11. Clarity (Outerlude)
12. Triumphance

Latest Coverage