Martha Wainwright Returns with 'Goodnight City'

Martha Wainwright Returns with 'Goodnight City'
After teaming up with half sister Lucy Wainwright last year for the Juno-nominated Songs in the Dark, Martha Wainwright is ready to go solo once again with a new LP this fall. Titled Goodnight City, the songwriter's sixth studio album will arrive this November.

A press release states that Goodnight City sees "a musical return to the rawness Martha first created on her debut self-titled album." Wainwright worked alongside producer Thomas Bartlett (Sufjan Stevens, Glen Hansard) and Brad Albetta (Angus & Julia Stone and Teddy Thompson) in writing the collection of 12 new tracks, a process she says was "the most fun I've had in a long time."

"Thomas (keys), Brad (electric/bass), Phil Melanson (drums), and I would sit in a circle and work out arrangements for these vividly different and very good songs," Wainwright said in a statement. "It was often exhilarating and sometimes for me, who was the most out of practice, quite exhausting. My fingers bled, my voice got sore but we pushed through to get to the sound of oneness which I think is achieved on this record."

Having written half of the record's material herself, an additional six songs were offered to her by the likes of Beth Orton, Glen Hansard, brother Rufus Wainwright, Michael Ondaatje and Merrill Garbus of tUnE-yArDs. 

"Because these writers know me and because I was able to personalize these songs by changing things here and there, I made them feel as if I wrote them myself," Wainwright said. "Somehow they wonderfully reflect my life and I am so thankful to the other artists for writing them."

Goodnight City will arrive on November 11 via Cadence Music Group, with Wainwright performing at M for Montreal on November 16. Read through the record's tracklist to hear first single "Around the Bend" in the player below.

You can pre-order the album here.

Goodnight City:

1. Around The Bend
2. Franci 
4. Look Into My Eyes
5. Before The Children Came Along
6. Window
7. Piano Music
8. Alexandria
9. So Down
10. One Of Us
11. Take The Reins
12. Francis