Laura Jane Grace Drops Surprise Pandemic Album 'Stay Alive'

BY Josiah HughesPublished Oct 1, 2020

Frontwoman of Against Me! and the Devouring Mothers, Laura Jane Grace has returned to her stripped-down roots and released a surprise new album.

Made up of songs recorded with sparse instrumentation, Stay Alive was recorded with Steve Albini in just two days. They had originally been planned for the next Against Me! album, but Grace decided to release them on her own in response to the pandemic.

"I sat around for a month-and-a-half at a home just being shell-shocked being like, 'What the fuck happened and what the fuck is happening with the world?'" she said in a press release. "As I started to get my bearings, I just came to the realization that waiting was going to kill the record and kill the songs. I spent two years working on all these songs, and the idea of throwing them away didn't sit well with me. But then I was like, 'What am I waiting for?' All I have to do is adjust my scope. I can sit here on my fucking ass and do nothing, or I can work."

Stay Alive is out digitally today via Polyvinyl. The album will get a physical release on December 11.

Stay Alive:

1. The Swimming Pool Song
2. The Calendar Song
3. Shelter In Place
4. Return To Oz
5. The Mountain Song
6. SuperNatural Possession
7. Hanging Tree
8. Please Leave
9. Why Kant I Be You?
10. Ice Cream Song
11. The Magic Point
12. Blood & Thunder
13. So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Fuck Off
14. Old Friend (Stay Alive)

Pre-oder Stay Alive.

Latest Coverage