Julien Baker Announces 'Little Oblivions' LP, Shares "Faith Healer" Single

Julien Baker Announces 'Little Oblivions' LP, Shares 'Faith Healer' Single
It's been three years since Julien Baker released her excellent sophomore record Turn Out the Lights, although she's kept plenty busy since then with both her own music and her collaborative boygenius project. Still, we're more than pleased to announce that the time has finally arrived for a proper follow-up.

The new Julien Baker album is called Little Oblivions, and it will arrive on February 26 via Matador. Ahead of its arrival in full, the LP is being previewed with a new song called "Faith Healer."

In a statement, Baker said the following of the song"

I think that "Faith Healer" is a song about vices, both the obvious and the more insidious ways that they show up in the human experience. I started writing this song two years ago and it began as a very literal examination of addiction. For a while, I only had the first verse, which is just a really candid confrontation of the cognitive dissonance a person who struggles with substance abuse can feel — the overwhelming evidence that this substance is harming you, and the counterintuitive but very real craving for the relief it provides. When I revisited the song I started thinking about the parallels between the escapism of substance abuse and the other various means of escapism that had occupied a similar, if less easily identifiable, space in my psyche.

Watch the video for "Faith Healer" below.

Little Oblivions:

1. Hardline
2. Heatwave
3. Faith Healer
4. Relative Fiction
5. Crying Wolf
6. Bloodshot
7. Ringside
8. Favor
9. Song in E
10. Repeat
11. Highlight Reel
12. Ziptie

Pre-order Little Oblivions.