Jenny Lewis Announces New Album 'Joy'All,' Shares New Song

The follow-up to 2019's 'On the Line' arrives in June

BY Kaelen BellPublished Mar 29, 2023

Jenny Lewis has announced a new album called Joy'All. It's arriving June 9 on Blue Note / Capitol, and alongside the announcement, Lewis has also shared new single and album opener "Psychos."

Joy'All is Lewis' fifth solo album and the follow-up to 2019's On the Line, and it features her 2021 one-off single "Puppy and a Truck." In a statement about the album, Lewis said:

I started writing some of these songs on the road, pre-pandemic… and then put them aside as the world shut down, and then from my home in Nashville in early 2021, I joined a week-long virtual songwriting workshop with a handful of amazing artists, hosted by Beck. The challenge was to write one song every day for seven days, with guidelines from Beck. The guidelines would be prompts like 'write a song with 1-4-5 chord progression,' 'write a song with only cliches,' or 'write in free form style.' The first song I submitted to the group was "Puppy and a Truck."

Joy'All was produced by Dave Cobb, engineered and mixed by Greg Koller and recorded at NRCA Studio A in Nashville. It features contributions from Jess Wolfe, Greg Leisz and Jon Brion.

"Dave works fast and we cut the bulk of the record with his incredible house band (Nate Smith, Brian Allen and Cobb on guitar, and myself on acoustic guitar and vocals) live on the floor in a couple of weeks," Lewis added. "Jess Wolfe came back to the studio to provide background vocals on the record and then Greg Leisz and Jon Brion added pedal steel, B-Bender guitar and Chamberlin, respectively, back in L.A."

Check out the Joy'All tracklist and listen to "Psychos" below. 


1. Psychos
2. Joy'All
3. Puppy and a Truck
4. Apples and Oranges
5. Essence of Life
6. Giddy Up
7. Cherry Baby
8. Love Feel
9. Balcony
10. Chain of Tears

Pre-order Joy'All.

Latest Coverage