Japandroids Announce New Live Album 'Massey Fucking Hall'

Watch them perform "Heart Sweats" live at the Toronto venue

BY Matt BobkinPublished May 27, 2020

Japandroids have been renowned for their high-energy live shows, and now the Canadian duo are set to commemorate one of them with a live record. Massey Fucking Hall is due June 19 on ANTI/Arts & Crafts, with a vinyl release following on October 2.

The live album was recorded on October 24, 2017, at legendary Toronto venue Massey Hall. The album's 12 tracks include songs from all three of their studio albums: 2009's Post-Nothing, 2012's Celebration Rock and 2015's Near to the Wild Heart of Life.

Said drummer David Prowse in a press release, "We never thought we'd have the opportunity to play at Massey Hall. It's the most legendary venue in Canada by far, but it didn't seem like a natural spot for a band like us to play. It's a 100-plus-year-old seated theatre, which isn't the usual type of spot you expect to see Japandroids."

Nevertheless, the set found the crowd on their feet and hollering away per usual, which you can see in the below video for the live version of Post-Nothing cut "Heart Sweats."

Japandroids' performance of "The House That Heaven Built" from this show was previously included on the 2018 compilation Live at Massey Hall Vol. 1. The show also yielded a performance video, which you can also watch below.

Keep scrolling for the tracklist and pre-order information.

Massey Fucking Hall:

1. Near to the Wild Heart of Life
2. Fire's Highway
3. Heart Sweats
4. Arc of Bar
5. Younger Us
6. North East South West
7. The Nights of Wine and Roses
8. No Known Drink or Drug
9. Continuous Thunder
10. Young Hearts Spark Fire
11. Sovereignty
12. The House That Heaven Built

Pre-order Massey Fucking Hall.

Latest Coverage