Jade Eagleson Leads Country Music Association of Ontario Awards Nominations for 2024

The Reklaws, Josh Ross, Meghan Patrick and Karli June follow closely with four nominations each

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Mar 27, 2024

Bailieboro, ON-hailing country singer-songwriter Jade Eagleson leads the nominations for this year's Country Music Association of Ontario Awards, where he's up for five awards. The Reklaws, Josh Rosh, Meghan Patrick and Karli June follow with four nods each.

With the exception of Fans' Choice, each of the 17 awards categories includes six nominations for the first time ever to celebrate the wealth of good country music things growing in the province. Owen Riegling, Jason Blaine, James Barker Band, Nicole Rayy, Tim Hicks, Steven Lee Olsen, the Redhill Valleys, Julian Taylor, Western Swing Authority, the Abrams, River Town Saints, Elyse Saunders, Sacha and Andrew Hyatt are among the other nominated artists.

The 12th annual CMAOntario Awards will take place on Sunday, June 2 at the Living Arts Centre in Mississauga. The 2024 festivities will be hosted by Pure Country Radio's Jason McCoy and TikTok sensation Teigen Gayse, and tickets are on sale now.

See the full list of this year's nominees below.

Single of the Year

"Honky Tonkin' About," the Reklaws
"Match for My Memory," Robyn Ottolini
"Old Dirt Roads," Owen Riegling
"Rodeo Queen," Jade Eagleson
"The Road That Raised You Up," Jason Blaine
"Trouble," Josh Ross

Album or EP of the Year

Ahead of Our Time, James Barker Band
Burning Back, Jessie T
Do It Anyway, Jade Eagleson
Greatest Show on Dirt, Meghan Patrick
Now & Then, Nicole Rayy
Unlearn, Griffen Palmer

Songwriter(s) of the Year

Craig Brooks and Nicole Rayy, "Now & Then" (recorded by Nicole Rayy)
Genevieve Fisher, Aaron Goodvin and Jennifer Schott, "Best Thing About the Rain" (recorded by Genevieve Fisher)
Jade Eagleson and Daryl Scott, "Rodeo Queen" (recorded by Jade Eagleson
Jason Blaine, "The Road the Raised You Up" (recorded by Jason Blaine)
Karli June and Gavin Slate, "Feel Like Home" (recorded by Karli June)
Meghan Patrick, Matt Alderman and Tom Salter, "Red Roses and Red Flags" (recorded by Meghan Patrick)

Female Artist of the Year

Elyse Saunders
Jessie T
Karli June
Meghan Patrick
Robyn Ottolini

Male Artist of the Year

Andrew Hyatt
Jade Eagleson
Jason Blaine
Josh Ross
Owen Riegling
Tim Hicks

Group or Duo of the Year

James Barker Band
New Moon Junction
River Town Saints
Rosewood Ave
The Reklaws
The Western Swing Authority

Roots Artist or Group of the Year

Callie McCullough
Emily Clair
Julian Taylor
Mackenzie Leigh Meyer
The Abrams
The Western Swing Authority

Breakthrough Artist of the Year

Alexa Goldie
Dayna Reid
Jessie T
Karli June
Lemon Cash
Owen Riegling

Francophone Artist or Group of the Year

Dayv Poulin
Kristine St-Pierre
Les Rats d'Swompe
Reney Ray
Sugar Crush
Vincent Bishop

Music Video of the Year

"Dirty," Nicole Rayy
"Feel Like Home (feat. Ryan Langdon)," Karli June
"Happy Chickens," Western Swing Authority 
"Honky Tonkin' About (feat. Drake Milligan)," the Reklaws
"Long Way Back," the Redhill Valleys
"Trouble," Josh Ross

Fans' Choice

Griffen Palmer
Jade Eagleson
James Barker Band
Josh Ross
Meghan Patrick
Steven Lee Olsen
The Reklaws
Tim Hicks

Record Producer(s) of the Year

Adam Newcomb
Gavin Slate
Jeff Dalziel
Matt Koebel
Shawn Moore
The Agenda

Radio Station of the Year (Large Market)

Country 104, London
Country 106.7, Kitchener
KX 94.7, Hamilton
KX96, Oshawa
Pure Country 93, London
Pure Country 94, Ottawa

Radio Station of the Year (Medium Market)

Cool 100.1, Belleville
Country 92.9, Chatham
Country 93.5, Kingston
Hot Country 93.9, Brantford
Pure Country 105, Peterborough
Pure Country 99, Kingston

Radio Station of the Year (Small Market)

Country 103, Great Lakes Country
Country 107.3, Tillsonburg
Country 89, Welland
Country 93, Owen Sound
Pure Country 106, Orillia
The Ranch, 100.1, Listowel

Industry Person of the Year

Aj Astle, Roadhouse Productions
Ali Raney, Starseed Entertainment
Dave Woods, In the Country
Madelaine Napoleone, Warner Music Canada
Samantha Pickard, Strut Entertainment
Wendy Boomer, Country 92.3

Musician of the Year

Adrian Juras
Jeff Downtown Brown
Joey DePaiva 
Mackenzie Leigh Meyer
Shane Guse
Will Hebbes

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage