Guilty Simpson Details 'Detroit's Son' LP

BY Josiah HughesPublished Aug 12, 2015

Detroit hip-hop great Guilty Simpson recently shared a taste of new material with "Vanguard Organization." Now, he's followed it up with news of a new LP.

Detroit's Son features 17 new tracks from the artist. Though "Vanguard Organization" didn't make the final tracklisting, it does boast a similar sound. All of Guilty's recent material has been produced by Quakers member Katalyst.

A press release promises that the album features all of the rapper's beloved traits, from his iconic, booming voice to his gritty observations on modern life. "With the subject of life in the Motor City placed front and center, Guilty's uncompromising rhymes fit seamlessly with Katalyst's hard-hitting beats," the write-up adds.

Stones Throw will issue Detroit's Son on September 11. You can stream the new cut "Fractured" below, and check out more audio samples at the album's pre-order page.

Detroit's Son:

1. R.I.P.
2. Blunts in the Air (ft. Cysion)
3. The D
4. Ghetto
5. Detroit's Son
6. Fractured (ft. Fat Ray)
7. Radiation Burn
8. Money
9. Smoking (ft. Spacek)
10. Rhyme 101
11. The Music
12. Beautiful Death
13. Blue Collar (ft. Elzhi)
14. The Time Is Now
15. Dirty Glove (ft. Phat Kat)
16. Say What?
17. Power Outage (ft. Spacek)

Latest Coverage