Gruff Rhys Announces 'American Interior' Multimedia Project

Gruff Rhys Announces 'American Interior' Multimedia Project
Super Furry Animals haven't been up to much lately, but singer Gruff Rhys has been keeping busy, both with his solo work and his Neon Neon collaboration with producer Boom Bip. Now, the Welshman has announced his latest solo effort, American Interior. It's due out on May 5 through Turnstile.

Not only is American Interior an album, there's also a book, a documentary film, and a mobile app that all share the same name. The project is based on Rhys's 2012 tour, which was called — you guessed it — American Interior.

During the tour, Rhys retraced the steps of a long-dead a relative named John Evans, who went missing after moving from Wales to Baltimore in 1792. Evans lived with several First Nations tribes; read more about his story here.

During the tour, Rhys recorded the 13-song album at Mike Mogis' sARC Studios in Omaha, NB. Kliph Scurlock from the Flaming Lips accompanied him on drums. The film documents the tour; it was directed by Dylan Goch, who directed Rhys's prior research doc, Separado! The book and app also explore the same journey.

In an announcement, Rhys promised to further illuminate Evans's story "in a PowerPoint presentation (across the nation) this summer."

Watch a trailer for the project below the tracklist, and check out its website here.

American Interior:

1. American Exterior
2. American Interior
3. 100 Unread Messages
4. The Whether (Or Not)
5. The Last Conquistador
6. Lost Tribes
7. Liberty (Is Where We'll Be)
8. Allweddellau Allweddol
9. The Swamp
10. Iolo
11. Walk into the Wilderness
12. Year of the Dog
13. Tiger's Tale