Green Day to Drop Massive 'Dookie' Box Set with Pile of Extras

It's for the album's 30th anniversary

Photo: Ken Schles

BY Alex HudsonPublished Aug 17, 2023

Green Day's genre-defining pop-punk masterpiece Dookie turns 30 early next year, and the band are starting the celebrations a little early with a big box set reissue. It's out September 29 and includes a pile of unreleased recordings.

The set is available on six LPs or four CDs. The vinyl version features the original album on the first record, a full LP of demos on the second and a full LP of outtakes on the third. The remaining three records feature the concert recordings Live at Woodstock (1994) and Live in Barcelona (June 5 '94).

The box sets also come with swag. The vinyl includes dog poop bags, buttons, an air freshener, a postcard,  a bumper sticker, magnets, a paper airplane, a black-and-white litho print and a poster; the CD comes with stickers, buttons, an air freshener and a magnet. An intro about the album has been written by producer Rob Cavallo, with liner notes from music critic Bob Mehr. A special version of the vinyl comes with each LP on a different shade of brown wax.

See the tracklist below. The set is available to pre-order here.

A press release hints that fans should "stay tuned for more news and announcements from Green Day."


1. Burnout
2. Having a Blast
3. Chump
4. Longview
5. Welcome to Paradise
6. Pulling Teeth
7. Basket Case
8. She
9. Sassafras Roots
10. When I Come Around
11. Coming Clean
12. Emenius Sleepus
13. In the End
14. F.O.D.
15. All by Myself 
Dookie 4-Track Demos:

1. Burnout
2. Chump
3. Pulling Teeth
4. Basket Case
5. She
6. Sassafras Roots
7. When I Come Around
8. In the End
9. F.O.D.
10. When It's Time
Dookie Cassette Demos:

1. When I Come Around
2. Basket Case
3. Longview
4. Burn Out
5. Haushinka
6. J.A.R. 
7. Having a Blast
Dookie Outtakes:

1. Christie Rd.
2. 409 in Your Coffeemaker
3. J.A.R.
4. On the Wagon
5. Tired of Waiting for You
6. Walking the Dog (demo)
Live at Woodstock (1994):

1. Welcome to Paradise
2. One of My Lies
3. Chump
4. Longview
5. Basket Case
6. When I Come Around
7. Burnout
8. F.O.D.
9. Paper Lanterns
10. Shit Show
Live in Barcelona (June 5 '94):

1. Welcome to Paradise
2. One of My Lies
3. Chump
4. Longview
5. Burnout
6. Only of You
7. When I Come Around
8. 2000 Light Years Away
9. Going to Pasalacqua
10. Knowledge
11. Basket Case
12. Paper Lanterns
13. Road to Acceptance
14. Dominated Love Slave
15. F.O.D.
16. Christie Rd.
17. Disappearing Boy

Latest Coverage