Gorillaz Announce New Album 'Cracker Island,' Share "New Gold" Featuring Tame Impala

The forthcoming album also features collaborations with Beck, Stevie Nicks, Bad Bunny and more

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Aug 31, 2022

After premiering golden new track "New Gold" — a collaboration with Tame Impala and Bootie Brown — live during their performance at London's All Points East Festival earlier this month, Gorillaz have released the single. The virtual band have also detailed their forthcoming new album.

Named for previous single with Thundercat, Cracker Island arrives February 24, 2023, via Parlophone / Virgin / Warner. It follows 2018's The Now Now, as well as the Song Machine: Season One - Strange Timez collection in 2020 and last year's surprise EP Meanwhile.

In addition to Tame Impala, Bootie Brown and Thundercat, Cracker Island features guest appearances by Beck, Stevie Nicks, Bad Bunny and Adeleye Omotayo. Gorillaz will head out on their first North America tour in four years ahead of its release, starting in Vancouver, BC, on September 11.

The new single sees the seamless marriage of the fictional cartoonster collective and Kevin Parker's sun-kissed psychedelia, with the Wiggles co-conspirator laying down a characteristically smooth, swirly vocal. Meanwhile, Bootie Brown offers: "Trending on Twitter's what some of us live for."

Listen to "New Gold" below, and keep scrolling to see the full album tracklist.

Cracker Island:

1. Cracker Island (feat. Thundercat)
2. Oil (feat. Stevie Nicks)
3. The Tired Influencer
4. Tarantula
5. Silent Running (feat. Adeleye Omotayo)
6. New Gold (feat. Tame Impala & Bootie Brown)
7. Baby Queen
8. Tormenta (feat. Bad Bunny)
9. Skinny Ape
10. Possession Island (feat. Beck)

Pre-order Cracker Island.

Latest Coverage