Gordon Lightfoot's Posthumous Final Album Announced

'At Royal Albert Hall' arrives this summer

BY Allie GregoryPublished May 15, 2023

As Canada continues to mourn the legendary Gordon Lightfoot upon news of his death at age 84 earlier this month, details of the revered artist's final album have emerged. Live album At Royal Albert Hall will be released on July 14 via Linus Entertainment.

Recorded in London, UK, at the Royal Albert Hall on May 24, 2016, and presented without edits, overdubs, remixing or re-sequencing, the double album will showcase the songwriter's greatest hits, including "The Watchman's Gone," "Sea of Tranquility," "Now and Then," "All The Lovely Ladies" and many more. See the tracklist below.

Lightfoot is joined by Rick Haynes on bass, Barry Keane on drums, Mike Heffernan on keys, and Carter Lancaster on guitar for the recording, which Lightfoot insisted be released as soon as possible, approving its cover art and ensuring no changes were made to its audio prior to his passing.

In the wake of Lightfoot's death, a Toronto restauranteur has proposed renaming Yonge–Dundas Square after the late artist, and a star-studded tribute concert — with appearances from Burton Cummings, Tom Cochrane and Murray McLauchlan and more — has been organized by former Riverboat owner, Bernie Fiedler. 

At Royal Albert Hall:

Disc One:

1. The Watchman's Gone
2. Sea of Tranquility
3. Now and Then
4. All the Lovely Ladies
5. Drifters
6. A Painter Passing Through
7. Christian Island
8. Rainy Day People
9. Shadows
10. Beautiful
11. Carefree Highway
12. Did She Mention My Name
13. Ribbon of Darkness
14. Sundown

Disc Two:

1. Sweet Guinevere
2. The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald
3. Never Too Close
4. Don Quixote
5. Minstrel of the Dawn
6. I'd Rather Press On
7. Let It Ride
8. If You Could Read My Mind
9. Restless
10. Baby Step Back
11. Early Morning Rain
12. Waiting for You

Latest Coverage