Forma Return with 'Physicalist' Album for Kranky

Forma Return with 'Physicalist' Album for Kranky
It's been a while since the New York-based, Krautrock-inspired Forma released any new music, but the trio have announced an album is on the way this fall. Their Physicalist double LP comes out September 23 via their new label home, Kranky.

A press release notes that this is the first full-length from the group to include newest member John Also Bennett, who had replaced founding Forma synth player Sophie Lam. Also switching things up, this is the first Forma album to include the use of organic instruments.

Specifically, the collection features "ambient, free-flowing experiments on piano, flute and acoustic percussion." The 11-song outing was tracked during "marathon sessions" at Brooklyn's Gary's Electric studio.

Previews from the platter have yet to arrive, but you'll find the full tracklisting below, and the '70s sci-fi/fantasy-styled album art up above.

While Forma put out their Cool Haptics EP in 2014 through the Bunker New York imprint, it's been four years since the band issued their OFF/ON album for Spectrum Spools. A video for that release's "Off" can be found beneath the new album info.


1. Collapse Of Materialists
2. Sane Man
3. Spin Glass
4. Ghosts
5. Maxwell's Demon
6. Descent
7. Wanderer Imitates A Cloud
8. As If Pianos Grew On Trees
9. Collapse Of Materialists
10. Physicalist
11. Improvisation For Flute And Piano