Devin Townsend Readies 'Ocean Machine' Live Album

It was recorded live at the Ancient Roman Theatre

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Apr 27, 2018

As part of a tour with his Devin Townsend Project last September, Devin Townsend celebrated the 20th anniversary of his Ocean Machine LP by playing the record in full at the Ancient Roman Theatre in Plovdiv, Bulgaria. Now, he'll release the evening's performance as a live album and film.

Ocean Machine: Live at the Ancient Roman Theatre Plovdiv collects both the album performance and a set of fan-requested songs performed alongside the Orchestra of Plovdiv State Opera. The album will arrive July 5 through InsideOut Music.

"Plovdiv and this live package represents a lot to me, it signifies the end of one era, and the celebration of another," Townsend wrote in a statement. "Amidst a gruelling touring year, this show came together with much blood, sweat, and tears, and the result is the culmination of many aspects of my work on one stage."

He continued: "Ocean Machine was released 20 years ago, and though [drummer Marty Chapman] is no longer with us, I was able to finally perform the album in its entirety with the original bassist John 'Squid' Harder on this night. On a cold evening in an old city in the ancient theatre, many lifelong milestones came to a conclusion on this night and I'm exceptionally proud of it."

Ocean Machine: Live at the Ancient Roman Theatre Plovdiv will arrive as a limited deluxe 3-CD/2-DVD/Blu-ray artbook edition, a 3-CD/DVD digipak, standalone Blu-ray and as a digital audio download.

You can pre-order the package through Townsend's official website, and can find a complete tracklisting below.

Ocean Machine: Live at the Ancient Roman Theatre Plovdiv:

By request with orchestra:

1. Truth
2. Stormbending
3. Om
4. Failure
5. By Your Command
6. Gaia
7. Deadhead
8. Canada
9. Bad Devil
10. Higher
11. A Simple Lullaby
12. Deep Peace

Ocean Machine:

1. Seventh Wave
2. Life
3. Night
4. Hide Nowhere
5. Sister
6. 3 A.M.
7. Voices in the Fan
8. Greetings
9. Regulator
10. Funeral
11. Bastard
12. The Death of Music
13. Things Beyond Things

Latest Coverage