Depeche Mode Detail New Album 'Momento Mori'

Watch a video for lead single "Ghost Again"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Feb 9, 2023

Depeche Mode have shared details of their forthcoming new record Momento Mori, which is previewed today by lead single "Ghost Again."

Dave Gahan and Martin Gore — now operating as a duo following keyboardist Andy "Fletch" Fletcher's death — had previously teased plans for the record in the fall, explaining that they "decided to continue [without Fletcher] as we're sure this is what he would have wanted, and that has really given the project an extra level of meaning."

Gore and Gahan gave an audience in Berlin an early taste of the album's lead single back in October, and it's now time for the rest of us to witness their new era unfold. "To me, 'Ghosts Again' just captures this perfect balance of melancholy and joy," Gahan said of the track in a release. Gore added, "It's not often that we record a song that I just don't get sick of listening to — I'm excited to be able to share it."

The duo are due to kick off a massive world tour in support of the record on March 23, the day before the record drops on March 24 via Columbia. The trek includes dates in Toronto, Quebec City and Montreal. See the full schedule here.

Watch the video for "Ghost Again" below, where you can also find the album's tracklisting.

Momento Mori:

1. My Cosmos Is Mine
2. Wagging Tongue
3. Ghosts Again
4. Don't Say You Love Me
5. My Favourite Stranger
6. Soul with Me
7. Caroline's Monkey
8. Before We Drown
9. People Are Good
10. Always You
11. Never Let Me Go
12. Speak to Me

Latest Coverage