Ceremony Detail New Album 'In the Spirit World Now'

Watch a video for its "Turn Away the Bad Thing"

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jun 26, 2019

Four years on from releasing The L-Shaped Man, Ceremony have signed to Relapse Records for a follow-up effort.

The California outfit will release new album In the Spirit World Now through Relapse on August 23. Fourteen tracks in length, the album was produced and engineered by Will Yip (Title Fight, Code Orange) and mixed by Ben Greenberg (the Men, Uniform).

"We knew this had to be the best thing we have ever done. We couldn't come back after four years with a record that only had a few good songs… Not reflecting on the evolution of the band is what keeps us motivated," guitarist Anthony Anzaldo said in a statement. "There is always a song we haven't written, a band we haven't played with, artwork we haven't thought of. We are creators by nature, not by choice."

In the Spirit World Now features contributions from Chelsea Wolfe and Nothing's Dominic Palermo. Alongside the announcement, the band have shared a video for album opener "Turn Away the Bad Thing" directed by Muted Windows. You can watch the clip below the tracklist.

In the Spirit World Now:

1. Turn Away The Bad Thing
2. In The Spirit World Now
3. Further I Was
4. /
5. Presaging The End
6. Say Goodbye To Them
7. We Can Be Free
8. //
9. Years Of Love
10. Never Gonna Die Now
11. I Want More
12. From Another Age
13. ///
14. Calming Water

Latest Coverage