Black Lips Go 'Underneath the Rainbow' for New Album

Black Lips Go 'Underneath the Rainbow' for New Album
Garage rock shit disturbers Black Lips had already announced that they were teaming up with the Black Keys' Patrick Carney for a new album, and now they've officially confirmed the details of their next LP. Underneath the Rainbow is due out on March 18 through Vice Records.

The 12 tracks were recorded at a variety of locations throughout 2013. Some of these were cut in Nashville with Carney handling production. Others were recorded at New York's Dunham Studios with Tommy Brenneck (Cee Lo Green, Charles Bradley), and a couple more were made with co-producer (and longtime studio collaborator) Ed Rawls. The results were mixed by Jimmy Douglass (Justin Timberlake, Snoop Dogg, Björk).

The tracklist is below. "Our main influences [this time] are pretty traditional," singer-bassist Jared Swilley told Rolling Stone. "It's roots music."

A prior Rolling Stone story indicated that the album will feature pedal steel and guitar from Mastodon guitarist Brent Hinds, plus contributions from Daptone horn players. Bradford Cox was supposed to make an appearance, but apparently never showed up. It's not clear how or if these guests factor into the final version of the LP.

This album is the follow-up to 2011's Arabia Mountain.

Underneath the Rainbow:

1. Drive By Buddy
2. Smiling
3. Make You Mine
4. Funny
5. Dorner Party
6. Justice After All
7. Boys in the Wood
8. Waiting
9. Do the Vibrate
10. I Don't Wanna Go Home
11. Dandelion Dust
12. Dog Years