​2018 SOCAN Songwriting Prize Nominees Revealed

BY Sarah MurphyPublished May 24, 2018

The nominees for the 2018 SOCAN Songwriting Prize have been revealed.
The award is presented by YouTube Music and celebrates the songwriting talents of Canadian artists.
The winner is selected by fan voting, which opens today (May 24) and runs through June 7. You can listen to all of the nominated songs, and select your pick for this year's winner here. You can also vote via social media by tweeting the name of your favourite nominee with the hashtag #mySSPvote.
The successful artist will receive a $10,000 prize, as well as a Yamaha PSR-S970 keyboard and a $500 gift card for Long & McQuade.
Last year's prize was awarded to PUP for "DVP."
Without further ado, check out the full list of nominated artists below.
2018 SOCAN Songwriting Prize Nominees:
Alvvays "Dreams Tonite" (written by Alec O'Hanley, Molly Rankin)
The Beaches "Money" (written by Leandra Earl, Eliza Enman-McDaniel, Jordan Miller, Kylie Miller, Garrett Lee)
Charlotte Cardin "Main Girl" (written by Charlotte Cardin)
Jessie Reyez "Cotton Candy" (written by Jessie Reyez)
James Barker Band "Chills" (written by James Barker, Gavin Slate, Travis Wood, Donovan Woods)
Partner "Play the Field" (written by Josée Caron, Lucy Niles)
Weaves "Walkaway" (written by Jasmyn Burke, Morgan Waters)
Birthday Boy and Trish "Magic" (written by Eoin Killeen, Timothy Law, Patrisha Sanna Campbell)
Iskwé "Healers" (written by Benjamin McCarthy, Iskwé, Ryan Somerville)
Casper Skulls "Lingua Franca" (written by Neil Bednis, Christopher Laurignano, Fraser McClean, Melanie St. Pierre)

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage