​PUP Win the 2017 SOCAN Songwriting Prize

​PUP Win the 2017 SOCAN Songwriting Prize
Photo: Vanessa Heins
Toronto punks PUP have been awarded the 2017 SOCAN Songwriting Prize for their The Dream Is Over track "DVP."
In addition to the prestigious title, the band have taken home the $10,000 cash prize, as well as a Yamaha PSR-S970 keyboard, an Epiphone Masterbilt Century Olympic guitar, and a $500 gift card from Long & McQuade.
A list of 10 finalists was nominated by a panel of 15 music industry experts earlier this year, though the winner was ultimately determined by fan voting. 
All four band members — Stefan Babcock, Nestor Chumak, Zachary Mykula, and Steven Sladkowski — share songwriting credits on the track.
"We are extremely grateful to have been considered for this songwriting award. We have tremendous respect for the other nine artists who were shortlisted — they've all spent countless hours and sleepless nights cutting their teeth and fretting over each and every tiny detail of their songs, and we are proud to be in their company," Babcock said in a statement. "Also, big thanks to our fans and everyone who voted or participated in this process at all. It is nice to be recognized for hard work alongside the other incredible nominees, and we all appreciate your support! And of course, thanks to SOCAN for their continued support as advocates, educators and, above all, music lovers. We are lucky to have you."
PUP beat out fellow nominees River Tiber, Charlotte Cardin, Jessie Reyez, Kaytranada, July Talk, Weaves, the Strumbellas, Daniel Caesar and Charlotte Day Wilson. See the full list of nominated songs here, and listen to the winning tune below.

The winners of the Prix de la chanson SOCAN were Klô Pelgag and Karl Gagnon for their song "Les ferrofluides-fleurs," as performed by Klô Pelgag.

Last year's SOCAN Songwriting Prize was awarded to the Fast Romantics.