Women's Patrick Flegel Announces New Cindy Lee Album 'What's Tonight to Eternity'

The first single "Heavy Metal" is a tribute to late Women band member Chris Reimer
Women's Patrick Flegel Announces New Cindy Lee Album 'What's Tonight to Eternity'
Former Women frontman Patrick Flegel has announced a new album under their Cindy Lee moniker. Titled What's Tonight to Eternity, the album is due out February 14 via W.25TH.
The record follows Act of Tenderness, which was initially released in 2015 then reissued last year, and 2018's Model Express.
The new record from Flegel's drag persona was partly inspired by Karen Carpenter. In a press release, they explained:
I found a deep interest and comfort in her story, which is a cautionary tale about the monstrosity of show business, stardom at a young age, and being a misfit looking for connection. The darkness and victimizing tabloid sensationalism she suffered, which is easily tempered and overwhelmed by her earnest output, her artistry, her tireless work ethic. Something utterly unique and magical takes shape in the negative space, out of exclusion. What I relate to in her mainly has a lot to do with her output and what is unknown about her, how much she kept hidden to herself while having this public profile.
Flegel also cites Patsy Cline and the Supremes as major influences on the new LP, which explores queerness and gender expression.
The first single to be released is "Heavy Metal." In addition to serving as the album closer, the track is a tribute to Flegel's late Women bandmate Chris Reimer, who passed away in 2012 at age 26.
See the full tracklisting for What's Tonight to Eternity, and stream "Heavy Metal," below.
What's Tonight to Eternity:
1. Plastic Raincoat
2. I Want You to Suffer
3. The Limit
4. What's Tonight to Eternity
5. One Second to Toe the Line
6. Lucifer Stand
7. Speaking From Above
8. Just for Loving You I Pay the Price
9. Heavy Metal