Wilco Announce New Album 'Ode to Joy'

Hear "Love Is Everywhere (Beware)" now

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jul 16, 2019

After mapping out plans for a North American fall tour last month, Wilco have now announced that a new album will arrive before they hit the road.

Titled Ode to Joy, Wilco's 11th studio album will see release October 4 through dBpm Records.

Arriving just over three years removed from 2016's Schmilco, Ode to Joy is said to encourage the act of finding joy in a dark political climate, featuring tracks that frontman Jeff Tweedy characterizes as "really big, big folk songs, these monolithic, brutal structures that these delicate feelings are hung on."

Alongside the announcement, the band have shared first single "Love Is Everywhere (Beware)."

Tweedy offered of the track, "There MUST be more love than hate. Right?! I'm not always positive we can be so sure. In any case, I'm starting to feel like being confident in that equation isn't always the best motivation for me to be my best self — it can kind of let me off the hook a little bit when I think I should be striving to contribute more love outside of my comfortable sphere of family and friends."

He concluded, "I guess the song is sort of a warning to myself that YES, Love IS EVERYWHERE, but also BEWARE! I can't let that feeling absolve me of my duty to create more."

Find the itinerary for Wilco's upcoming North American fall tour here. In the time since Schmilco, Tweedy has released solo albums Together at Last, WARM and WARMER. He also released memoir Let's Go (So We Can Get Back).

Ode to Joy is available for pre-order.

Ode to Joy:

1. Bright Leaves
2. Before Us
3. One and a Half Stars
4. Quiet Amplifier
5. Everyone Hides
6. White Wooden Cross
7. Citizens
8. We Were Lucky
9. Love Is Everywhere (Beware)
10. Hold Me Anyway
11. An Empty Corner

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage