Weaves Announce Self-Titled Debut EP

Weaves Announce Self-Titled Debut EP
Last fall, Weaves introduced themselves via hypnotic first single "Take A Dip," and now the Toronto indie rock unit are ready to show us what else they have in store with their impending self-titled EP.

The band's six-song debut is set to drop April 1 through Buzz Records, with a press release noting the record has Weaves' juxtaposes "giant hooks" with arrangements that "sound as if they're about to come apart at any second."

Weaves was founded by former RatTail leader Jasmyn Burke and Sweet Things' Morgan Waters, who apparently exchanged "preliminary cellphone demos" before officially hooking up in the project. Filling out the lineup is the rhythm section of Spencer Cole and Zach Bines, who help deliver the band's "buoyant pop hooks" on- and offstage.

The EP was recorded with producer David Newfeld (Broken Social Scene, Los Campensinos!) and includes the previously teased "Take a Dip," as well as the new single/opening track "Buttercup." You can sample the playfully skewed arrangement of mangled mandolins, big top-informed guitar lines and slow-groove drum beats seething beneath Burke's "warped but soulful warble" down below.


1. Buttercup
2. Motorcycle
3. Take A Dip
4. Do You See Past
5. Closer
6. Hulahoop