​The Pretenders Are 'Relentless' on New Album, Share Single "Let the Sun Come In"

Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood arranged the strings on one track

BY Alex HudsonPublished May 11, 2023

The Pretenders have announced Relentless, their latest studio album. The album arrives on September 1 through Rhino Records, and the single "Let the Sun Come In" is streaming now.

The album was produced by David Wrench (Frank Ocean, Caribou, David Byrne) at London, UK's Battery Studios. Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood arranged and conducted the strings on closer "I Think About You Daily."

"I enjoy seeing the various meanings and origins of a word," said singer Chrissie Hynde of Relentless's title. "And I liked the definition: 'showing no abatement of intensity.' So when it came to an album title, it seemed fitting. You know, to keep doing it. I think anyone in a band is constantly questioning if they should keep going. It starts as a youthful pursuit and eventually, it makes you wonder, why am I doing this? It's the life of the artist. You never retire. You become relentless."

Hear "Let the Sun Come In" below, and scroll past that to see the album's 12-song tracklist. Pre-orders are available here.

The band have an international tour schedule coming up, but there currently aren't any Canadian dates.


1. Losing My Sense of Taste
2. A Love
3. Domestic Silence
4. The Copa
5. Promise of Love
6. Merry Widow
7. Let the Sun Come In
8. Look Away
9. Your House Is on Fire
10. Just Let It Go
11. Vainglorious
12. I Think About You Daily

Latest Coverage