​The Gaslight Anthem Announce New Album, Drop Bruce Springsteen Collaboration

Watch the music video for "History Books"

BY Emilie Richardson-DupuisPublished Jul 21, 2023

The Gaslight Anthem have announced their first new album in almost ten years, History Books, out October 27 via their own label Rich Mahogany Recordings. 

"Having the band come this far and be able to still find inspiration and connection in our music is a treasure," the band's lead singer Brian Fallon said in a statement. "We're thrilled to be back, and we thank our fans for allowing us time to regroup."

He added, "None of us wanted to make a very sombre or serious record showing how much we've matured. We've all changed and grown and learned so much, but the overall mood was a feeling of excitement to be back together and making music that means something to us."

History Books is the band's sixth album and the follow-up to 2014's Get Hurt

To coincide with the album announcement, Gaslight Anthem have shared the title track "History Books," with Bruce Springsteen, the band's idol and now friend, who Fallon said he went to for guidance about getting the Gaslight Anthem back together. It was Springsteen who initially proposed they do a song together. 

"When Bruce Springsteen said I should write a duet for us, I think my head exploded," said Fallon. "It will never get old to me that one of the greatest songwriters in the world, and one of my hero's voices, will forever be captured in a song I wrote at a small wooden desk, in October, in New Jersey."

Hear their collaboration below, where you can also find the album's tracklist. 

History Books:

1. Spider Bites
2. History Books (feat. Bruce Springsteen)
3. Autumn
4. Positive Charge
5. Michigan, 1975
6. Little Fires
7. The Weatherman
8. Empires
9. I Live in the Room Above Her
10. A Lifetime of Preludes

Pre-order History Books.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage