Tanika Charles Returns with 'The Gumption,' Shares New Song

Tanika Charles Returns with 'The Gumption,' Shares New Song
After making her debut in 2017 with Soul Run, Tanika Charles has announced a follow-up effort. Titled The Gumption, the album arrives May 10 through Record Kicks.

Twelves tracks in length, The Gumption is said to find the Juno-nominated vocalist addressing "moments of vulnerability, vindication, uncertain love, forbidden fruit and the state of the world today." The album features production from DJ Kemo (the Rascalz, Kardinal Offishall), Chin Injeti (DJ Khalil, Eminem, Drake) and Daniel Lee (Hooded Fang, Phèdre). 

"It's a little more mature. It's not feeling guilty about being up front, not being afraid to address situations that aren't comfortable for me," Charles offered of the album. "I'm comfortable in my skin now in a way I never was before. The overall theme is growth. I feel the music reflects that, and my words reflects that. Even the album cover tries to convey the feeling too. I'm not putting up with unnecessary nonsense anymore."

Alongside the announcement, Charles has shared new track "Cadillac Moon" and an animated album teaser from German artist Aline Helmcke. You can find both following the album's tracklist below.

The Gumption is available for pre-order here.

The Gumption:

1. Tell Me Something
2. Going Home
3. Love Overdue
4. Remember to Remember
5. Cool Scorpio
6. Dans Les Nuages
7. Cadillac Moon
8. Upside Down
9. First & Last
10. Look At Us Now
11. Since You Been Gone
12. Always Restless