Sparta Return with New Album 'Trust the River,' Share First Single

It marks the band's first LP since 2006
Sparta Return with New Album 'Trust the River,' Share First Single
Jim Ward's exit from a 2016 At the Drive-In reunion led to the return of his post-ATDI project Sparta, and the guitarist has now shared details of that band's first album in over a decade.

Sparta will release new album Trust the River on April 10 through Dine Alone Records, marking their first effort for the label. It's also the band's first album since 2006's Threes.

Ten tracks in length, Trust the River found Ward working with bassist Matt Miller, drummer Cully Symington, guitarist Gabriel Gonzalez and musician-producer David Garza. Previously shared song "Graveyard Luck," which hit the internet in 2017, appears in the tracklist.

Alongside the announcement, Sparta have shared new song "Believe." You can hear the track via a newly shared video below ahead of its arrival on DSPs tomorrow (January 24).

"'Believe' is a song that's been on my desk for 10 years," Ward explained in a statement. "I've recorded numerous versions but couldn't quite get it where I thought it was ready until now. Once we had the basic track I sent it to my friend Carlos Arevalo from Chicano Batman for some guitar touches and was over the moon with his contribution. I couldn't think of a better song from Trust the River to kick this new chapter off."

Sparta have also mapped out a series of U.S. tour dates, which you can find hereTrust the River is now available for pre-order.

Trust the River:

1. Class Blue
2. Cat Scream
3. Turquoise Dream
4. Spirit Away
5. Believe
6. Graveyard Luck
7. Dead End Signs
8. Miracle
9. Empty House
10. No One Can Be Nowhere