Skydiggers Return with 'Northern Shore'

Skydiggers Return with 'Northern Shore'
Canadian roots unit Skydiggers are set to return with their first full-length effort in almost a decade, Northern Shore. While the outfit did, in fact, deliver the career-spanning The Truth About Us in 2009, this will be the proper follow-up to 2008's City of Sirens.

A press release explains that Northern Shore will arrive on April 17 through Latent Recordings. The 15-song set is described as "the most adventurous and varied of the group's 20-year-plus career," while remaining true to the group's folk roots.

The tracklisting is below, while the artwork is above. Skydiggers will also apparently be dropping some teasers in the next couple of weeks. In the meantime, the band will also be delivering a smattering of old demos, unreleased recordings and other "sonic gems" through their website. First up is a demo of "Leslie" from 1989.

"This demo of 'Leslie' was recorded in 1989 at Grant Avenue in Hamilton, before we had signed our record deal with Enigma," singer Andy Maize said in a statement. "It was always a crowd favourite live -- Wayne Stokes (drummerman) would come out from behind his blastick beaten kit to sing harmonies and then he and I would launch into a seriously choreographed pattycake routine during Josh's pickin' at the end of the song... always fun... as long as no one got hurt..."

You can stream the unearthed recording at the bottom of the page.

Northern Shore:

1. Waves
2. Fire Engine (Red Explosion)
3. You've Been Gone So Long
4. Northern Shore
5. Barely Made it Through
6. You Sparkle Silver
7. The Herd
8. Liar, Liar
9. You'll Come Around
10. Wake Up Little Darling
11. I'll Be There
12. Deep Water (31 Mile Lake)
13. You've Been Gone So Long
14. Without Me
15. Falling With the Stars