Simian Mobile Disco Reveal 'Unpatterns,' Share New Track

Simian Mobile Disco Reveal 'Unpatterns,' Share New Track
When James Ford isn't busy producing the likes of Florence and the Machine and Arctic Monkeys, he makes up one half of the British dance duo Simian Mobile Disco. Now, the beat-loving electronic outfit have unveiled the some of the details of an upcoming release.

The group's newly relaunched website reads simply "Unpatterns 14/05/12." In other words, it looks as if a new album will be out on May 14. That's a UK release date (it's a Monday), so the disc will most likely drop on these shores the next day (May 15).

UPDATE: SMD has now confirmed that the Unpatterns album will be out on May 14. The tracklist is below.

The pair also posted a new track called "Fourteenth Principles," presumably culled from the supposed new album. It clocks in at under two minutes and consists entirely of a cosmic swirl of wordless vocals and synth ambience. It's more of an overture than a real song, but it's nevertheless an intriguing preview of Unpatterns (which, incidentally, sounds a whole heck of a lot like a Pack A.D. album title).

Listen to "Fourteenth Principles" over here on Simian Mobile Disco's website.


1. I Waited For You
2. Cerulean
3. Seraphim
4. A Species Out of Control
5. Interference
6. Put Your Hands Together
7. The Dream of the Fisherman's Wife
8. Your Love Ain't Fair
9. Pareidolia
10. Everyday (bonus itunes exclusive)