Shabason & Krgovich Announce Joint Album 'At Scaramouche,' Share Idyllic New Single

It follows their first collaborative effort with Chris Harris, 2020's 'Philadelphia'

Photo: Tess Roby

BY Kayla HigginsPublished Aug 10, 2022

Joseph Shabason and Nicholas Krgovich have come together as Shabason & Krgovich to announce new collaborative album At Scaramouche, with lead single "I Am So Happy with My Little Dog" and its accompanying video now available to stream.

To be released on October 7 via Idée Fixe, the project marks their first collaborative effort since 2020's Philadelphia with Chris Harris, and serves as a direct parallel to the domesticity of that record.

The new single — illustrated in the music video by a man who is indeed very happy with his little dog — celebrates otherwise unremarkable moments that become utopic through the lens of nostalgia. It's a tightly-knit ensemble of trumpet harmonies, bubbling synths and chanting vocals, crowned by a genre-bending guitar solo.

In a statement about the album, Shabason said: "This record was very much a band effort. Me and Nick were at the helm but we called on the amazing crew of musicians that I play with here in Toronto to really help flesh things out." 

He continued: "The last record was a real exercise in minimalism and quietness, and to me this record feels much more robust, and occasionally bombastic by comparison." 

Listen to "I Am So Happy With My Little Dog" below, where you'll also find the album's tracklisting.

At Scaramouche:

1. Soli
2. In the Middle of the Day
3. What Comes Back
4. I Am So Happy with My Little Dog 
5. Childhood McDonald's
6. I'm Dancing
7. Soli II
8. Templeton Field
9. Drinks at Scaramouche 

Latest Coverage