Royal Wood Announces New LP: 'We Were Born to Glory'

Royal Wood Announces New LP: 'We Were Born to Glory'
We knew that Royal Wood had some new material in the pipeline, since last year's "Sneak Peak Tour" gave us a taste of some of his new material. Having gathered fans' feedback during that trip, the Toronto-based folk pop singer has now announced his latest LP. Entitled We Were Born to Glory, it's due out July 10 via MapleMusic Recordings.

The album was co-produced by returning collaborator Dean Drouillard (Sarah Slean, Sarah Harmer, Matthew Barber) at Pierre Marchand's Montreal studio. Royal Wood said in a statement, "With each record I try to break boundaries and create something I haven't made before. I wanted to push myself not only artistically, but emotionally as well. Exceeding my own potential was the major thread of this record."

The collection is said to feature uptempo tunes with percussion loops in addition to strings and horns arranged by the songwriter himself. For a taste of what he has cooked up, listen to the "Free Fallin'"-esque single "Not Giving Up" right here. The song is said to be about "cultivating and maintaining love throughout a couple's inevitable struggle."

We Were Born to Glory is the follow-up to 2010's Juno-nominated The Waiting. Scroll past the tracklist to see Royal Wood's upcoming tour schedule, and expect more dates to be announced shortly.

We Were Born to Glory:

1. The Thick of It
2. The Fire Did Go
3. Not Giving Up
4. Will We Ever Learn
5. I Want Your Love
6. When the Sun Comes Up
7. I'll Be Gone
8. Always Will
9. I Need You Now
10. Brand New Life
11. Hard Thing to Find 
12. Release Me
13. The Glory

Tour dates:

5/22 Paris, FR - Espace B
6/10 Toronto, ON -  Luminato
7/6-8 Winnipeg, MB - Winnipeg Folk Festival
7/14-15 Vancouver, BC - Vancouver Folk Festival
8/10-12 Edmonton, AB - Edmonton Folk Festival
8/18-19 Owen Sound, ON - Summerfolk
8/25 Niagara on the Lake, ON - Jackson Triggs *

* with Winery Niagara Symphony