Fast Romantics Win 2016 SOCAN Songwriting Prize

Fast Romantics Win 2016 SOCAN Songwriting Prize
Toronto-based indie rockers Fast Romantics shared a unique video for their exuberant "Julia" last summer, and now a little over one year later, the song has won them this year's SOCAN Songwriting Prize.

For winning the competition, the band will take home a $10,000 cash prize, a $500 gift card from Long & McQuade, a Yamaha PSR-S970 keyboard from Yamaha Canada and the choice between a Seagull Artist Studio CW or a Godin 5th Avenue Jazz guitar. 

Fast Romantics beat fellow 2016 nominees Jazz Cartier, Spek Won, Dilly Dally, Tobias Jesso Jr., Terra Lightfoot, Daniel Caesar, Modern Space, the Strumbellas and Andy Shauf.

"I'm surprised and thrilled to hear we've won this prize, and beyond honoured to have been included alongside so many spectacular Canadian songwriters," frontman Matthew Angus said in a statement. "Really, everybody on the list deserved this prize. Big thanks to our fans for voting, to the folks on the panel for selecting us, and to SOCAN for continuing to do stuff like this to help inspire, promote, and protect Canadian music creators. We love ya something fierce!"

In addition to the English-language SOCAN Songwriting Prize, there's also a French-language Prix de la chanson SOCAN. This year, the French prize went to Laurence Nerbonne for "Rêves d'été."

This year was the 10th instalment of the SOCAN Songwriting Prize. A record of nearly 30,000 votes were cast in both English and French competitions, eclipsing 2015's record total by almost 33 percent. 

Past English-language winners include Dear Rouge, Alejandra Ribera, Mo Kenney, Kathleen Edwards, Katie Moore, Brasstronaut, D-Sisive, the Weakerthans, Abdominal and Propagandhi.