of Montreal Announce New Album 'Lady on the Cusp'

Hear the single "Yung Hearts Bleed Free" now

BY Alex HudsonPublished Mar 5, 2024

of Montreal have announced a new album. The prolific psych-pop project led by songwriterr Kevin Barnes has announced Lady on the Cusp, out May 17 through Polyvinyl Records. The single "Yung Hearts Bleed Free" is out now.

The 10-song album is Barnes's first since leaving their longtime home of Georgia and moving to Vermont with partner Christina Schneider. A press release calls the album a "reintroduction" to the project, continuing to chart a path forward rather than revisit past sounds.

It was entirely written, performed and engineered by Barnes, with the exception of a couple of contributions from Clayton Rychlik (percussion and xylophone on "Soporific Cell") and Jojo Glidewell (keys on "Soporific Cell" and sax on "Sea Mines That Mr. Gone").

The single "Yung Hearts Bleed Free" is described as a "Bootsy Collins-influenced, self-deprecating ode to Barnes' heroes — 'sex maniacs' and 'drug-addled creeps,' all — that indulges in freedom and fetish." Hear it below, and scroll past that to see Lady on the Cusp's tracklist.

The album is available to preorder here.

Lady on the Cusp:

1. Music Hurts the Head
2. 2 Depressed 2 Fuck
3. Rude Girl on Rotation
4. Yung Hearts Bleed Free
5. Soporific Cell
6. I Can Read Smoke
7. PI$$ PI$$
8. Sea Mines That Mr. Gone
9. Poetry Surf
10. Genius in the Wind

Latest Coverage