Arthur Russell Demos Collected on New Compilation

Listen to "You Did It Yourself" from 'Iowa Dream'
Arthur Russell Demos Collected on New Compilation
Audika Records is once again celebrating the work of the late Arthur Russell, this time via a new compilation album of demos. Titled Iowa Dream, the collection is set to be released on November 15.

Alongside the announcement, Audika has shared the record's first track called "You Did It Yourself," which the label says has been "until now heard only in a brief heart-stopping black-and-white clip in Matt Wolf's documentary Wild Combination" and "awards us a new take with a driving funk rhythm and Russell's extraordinary voice soaring at the height of its powers."

You can listen to "You Did It Yourself" by scrolling past the 19-song tracklisting.

According to Audika, Iowa Dream is "at once kaleidoscopic and intimate, [bearing] some of Russell's most personal work, including several recently discovered folk songs he wrote during his time in Northern California in the early 1970s." 

The record is available for pre-order.

Russell passed away in 1992 at the age of 40 from complications with HIV/AIDS. Over the years, multiple posthumous reissues, compilations and EPs have been released on his behalf with the help of his partner Tom Lee and Audika Records.

Iowa Dream:

1. Wonder Boy
2. I Never Get Lonesome
3. Everybody Everybody
4. You Did It Yourself
5. Come to Life
6. Iowa Dream
7. Words of Love
8. I Still Love You
9. You Are My Love
10. Barefoot in New York
11. Just Regular People
12. I Wish I Had a Brother
13. I Felt
14. The Dogs Outside Are Barking
15. Sharper Eyes
16. Follow You
17. List of Boys
18. I Kissed the Girl From Outer Space
19. In Love With You for the Last Time