Matt Skiba, Against Me!'s Atom Willard, AFI's Hunter Burgan Form New Band Lektron

Hear their first two songs, "Dirty Jacks" and "She's a War"

BY Megan LaPierrePublished May 31, 2023

It's been a bit of weird year for Matt Skiba. As recently as last July, the Alkaline Trio frontman had no idea whether he was still in blink-182 after taking over as their guitarist in 2015. Just a few short months later, the news broke that rogue alien hunter and founding member Tom DeLonge had rejoined the band.

DeLonge went on to pen an open letter to Skiba, thanking him for keeping blink "thriving" in his absence — and his gracious former replacement assured that there "isn't any bad blood" between himself and the band. Okay, but where does one go from there?

Well, Skiba is now fronting a new band called Lektron, formed with Against Me! drummer Atom Willard, AFI bassist Hunter Burgan and guitarist Randy Moore (who also plays in Alkaline Trio bassist Dan Andriano's band). They've released their first two songs together, "Dirty Jacks" and "She's a War," via Asian Man Records — and apparently have a full-length album and "extensive live touring" to come.

The double-single was recorded between San Jose's District Recording and Foo Fighters' Studio 606 with engineer Ryan Perras. As per a press release, Lektron take influence from each other's respective projects, "as well as bands like Fugazi, Joy Division and Brainiac." 

Listen to the band's first tracks below.


Tour Dates

Latest Coverage