King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard Announce New Album 'The Silver Cord,' Share Three Songs

It's their second LP of 2023

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Oct 3, 2023

Prolific doesn't seem like a strong enough word to describe the productivity of Australian psych-rock savants King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard. Their output is, frankly, bonkers. And the sextet's reputation precedes them: they've announced their second new album of 2023.

UPDATE (10/3, 9:15 a.m. ET): King Gizz have shared the record's lead singles/videos, "Theia," "The Silver Cord" and "Set," to introduce its newfangled embrace of electronics. Give those a listen below.

The Silver Cord arrives on October 27. It follows this summer's PetroDragonic Apocalypse. Though they've yet to share any music from it, the seven-track collection will be released alongside an extended version of the record that includes extended versions of each track.

"The first version's really condensed, trimming all the fat," the outfit's Stu Mackenzie explained. "And on the second version, that first song, 'Theia', is 20 minutes long. It's the 'everything' version — those seven songs you've already heard on the first version, but with a whole lot of other shit we record while making it. It's for the Gizz-heads. I love Donna Summer's records with Giorgio Moroder, and I'd never listen to the short versions now — I'm one of those people who wants to hear the whole thing. We're testing the boundaries of people's attention spans when it comes to listening to music, perhaps — but I'm heavily interested in destroying such concepts."

The band shared the news on Instagram with a photo of them looking like an '80s synthpop group, wearing red sunglasses and staring into space stoically while surrounded by analogue synths. Might this indicate a left turn?

"It's definitely synth-y," Joey Walker added of the album, for which King Gizz cite Kraftwerk and classic disco as influences. "You could draw comparisons in many ways, but just in the nature of us being in the same room and playing and writing together, it's vastly different than [2021's] Butterfly [3000]."

Check out the album tracklist below.

The Silver Cord:

1. Theia
2. The Silver Cord
3. Set
4. Chang'e
5. Gilgamesh
6. Swan Song
7. Extinction

A post shared by kinggizzard (@kinggizzard)


Tour Dates

Latest Coverage