​Karen O and Danger Mouse Unveil 'Lux Prima' Album

Hear their new track "Woman"

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Jan 15, 2019

Karen O and Danger Mouse introduced us to their latest collaborative project last year, and now they've unveiled full plans for their Lux Prima album. The joint record will arrive on March 15 via BMG.
The album will be made up of nine songs, including the previously released title track and the new single "Woman."

In a statement, Yeah Yeah Yeahs frontwoman Karen O said the following of "Woman":
"Woman" came like a bolt out of the blue when we were in the studio. We did a first pass where I was blurting unintelligible words and Danger Mouse and I were like "Dang! That was intense. What's that word I keep saying? Woman." The atmosphere was volatile with it being just after the election. A lot of people felt helpless like you do when you're a scared kid looking for assurance that everything is gonna be alright. I like to write songs that anyone can relate to but this one felt especially for the inner child in me that needed the bullies out there to know you don't fuck with me. I'm a woman now and I'll protect that inner girl in me from hell and high water.
In a previous statement about the record, Karen O explained that the new collaborative material was created from "a blurry place."
Scroll through the full Lux Prima tracklisting and stream "Woman" below.
Lux Prima:

1. Lux Prima
2. Ministry
3. Turn The Light
4. Woman
5. Redeemer
6. Drown
7. Leopard's Tongue
8. Reveries
9. Nox Lumina

Latest Coverage