Gold & Youth Announce 'Beyond Wilderness,' Premiere New Song

Gold & Youth Announce 'Beyond Wilderness,' Premiere New Song
Vancouver quartet Gold & Youth officially kicked off their Arts & Crafts catalogue with a 7-inch last fall, and now the band's long-prepped debut full-length Beyond Wilderness has finally received a due date of May 14.

As previously reported, the 11-song set was produced by Colin Stewart (Black Mountain, New Pornographers, Dan Mangan) and mixed by Gareth Jones (Depeche Mode, Grizzly Bear, Interpol). A press release notes that the upcoming song cycle, which had originally been pegged for a spring 2012 release, is built around "dark, expansive synthetic textures." It also apparently features "melancholy vocals, detuned synth melodies and understated guitars," and is influenced by Depeche Mode and Roxy Music.

You may be familiar with a couple of cuts off Beyond Wilderness already, as 7-inch songs "City of Quartz" and "Time to Kill" bookend the set, but the band are serving up another sneak peak via the twisting synthscapes of the Louise Burns-sung "Jewel." You can stream the song down below.

Beyond Wilderness:

1. City of Quartz
2. Little Wild Love
3. Quarters
4. Tan Lines
5. Cut Lip
6. Jewel
7. Come to Admire
8. Daylight Colours
9. Palm Villa
10. Young Blood
11. Time to Kill