Florida's Home Is Where Surface with New Album 'The Whaler'

Watch a video for new single "Yes! Yes! A Thousand Times Yes!"

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Apr 26, 2023

Home Is Where have lifted the curtain on a new album. The Florida emo outfit will share The Whaler on June 16 via Wax Bodega.

Following their breakout I Became Birds — named among Exclaim!'s Best EPs of 2021 — the 10-track Whaler is described in a release as a concept album "about getting used to things getting worse."

It's a mood expertly conveyed ahead of the album's arrival by tracks titled "Everyday Feels Like 9/11" and "Nursing Home Riot," to say nothing of the album art from Foster Miller seen above. 

Arriving alongside the album news is "Yes! Yes! A Thousand Times Yes!" You can hear it below alongside a Texas Smith–directed music video. 

As frontwoman Brandon MacDonald explains, the song "tells the story of two people faking normalcy in the normalcy of faking. The idea or even the image, no matter how altered or perfectly copied, of love is no substitute for the real."

Home Is Where are touring the US this July, and you can find their dates here.

The Whaler:

1. Skin Meadow
2. Lily Pad Pupils
3. Yes! Yes! A Thousand Times Yes!
4. Whaling for Sport
5. Everyday Feels Like 9/11
6. 9/12
7. Daytona 500
8. Chris Farley
9. Nursing Home Riot
10. Floral Organs

Latest Coverage