Fatoumata Diawara Teams with Damon Albarn for New Album 'London Ko'

Angie Stone, -M-, Yemi Alade and more contribute

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Mar 24, 2023

Fatoumata Diawara has announced a new album. The Grammy-nominated Malian singer-songwriter will share London Ko on May 12 via 3ème Bureau.

Following Diawara's 2022 soundtrack album Maliba and 2018 solo LP Fenfo (Something to Say)London Ko is said to combine synthetic sounds and traditional Malian rhythms in constructing "an eclectic and an absolute avant-garde universe."

The album features six tracks co-produced with Damon Albarn, who also features on album opener "Nsera." You can revisit that song alongside a music video below.

Diawara and Albarn previously collaborated on 2020 Gorillaz single "Désolé," which arrived as part of the Exclaim! cover stars' Song Machine series. 

London Ko also features collaborations with Angie Stone, -M-, Roberto Fonseca, Yemi Alade and M.anifest.

Recent years have also seen Diawara collaborate with Disclosure, appearing on 2018 single "Ultimatum" and "Douha (Mali Mali)" from their 2020 album ENERGY.

Pre-order and pre-save London Ko.

London Ko:

1. Nsera (feat. Damon Albarn)
2. Somaw (feat. Angie Stone)
3. Sete
4. Seguen
5. Massa Den (feat. -M-)
6. Mogokan (feat. M.anifest)
7. Blues (feat. Roberto Fonseca)
8. Moussoya
9. Netara
10. Yada
11. Tolon (feat. Yemi Alade)
12. Dambe
13. Dakan
14. Maya

Latest Coverage