Elephant Stone Reveal 'The Three Poisons,' Share Title Track

Elephant Stone Reveal 'The Three Poisons,' Share Title Track
There were several years between Elephant Stone's 2009 debut album, The Seven Seas, and its self-titled 2013 followup. Fans won't have to wait nearly so long for the Montreal psych group's third full-length, since The Three Poisons will drop on August 26. The vinyl, CD and digital versions will be handled by Hidden Pony Records, while Burger Records will put it out on tape.

In a statement about the album, band leader Rishi Dhir explained that the album's genesis can be traced back to January 1, 2013, when someone left a box of vinyl on his brother-in-law's doorstep. It included records by Echo & the Bunnymen, Happy Mondays, New Order, the Stone Roses, Spacemen 3, Ride and more.

Apparently, this box of wax helped to inspire the new songs. Dhir said of the sessions for The Three Poisons, "The grooves were groovier, the sonics rumbled heavier, and the songs were connecting to something bigger."

The tracklist is below. Scroll past that to stream the psychedelically synth-y title track.

The Three Poisons:

1. Motherless Child (Love's Not for War)
2. Knock You from Yr Mountain
3. All is Burning
4. Worlds Don't Begin and End with You
5. Wayward Son
6. Intermediate State
7. Child Of Nature (Om Namah Sivaya)
8. Living for Something
9. Three Poisons
10. Echo & the Machine
11. Between the Lines