Here are the 2024 Canadian Folk Music Awards Winners

William Prince and Mia Kelly lead the pack with multiple honours

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Apr 10, 2024

The Canadian Folk Music Awards have announced the recipients of 2024's honours.

Now in its 19th year, the CFMAs were presented over two gala concerts this past weekend (April 6 and 7) at the Majestic Theatre in St. John's, NL.

William Prince came away with three CFMA wins for his fourth studio LP Stand in the Joy, including honours for Contemporary Album of the Year, Solo Artist of the Year, and Single of the Year with "When You Miss Someone."

Gatineau, QC, songwriter Mia Kelly was awarded two CFMAs: New/Emerging Artist of the Year and Young Performer of the Year.

Provincially, artists from Ontario and Quebec received the most awards with five recipients, respectively. Other winners of 2024 CFMAs include Suzie Vinnick, Sophie Lukacs, Jill Barber, Mary Beth Carty, Queen Kong and the Bombadils.

It was also announced that the 20th anniversary edition of the CFMAs will be held in Ottawa, ON, in 2025.

Find the complete list of 2024 Canadian Folk Music Award winners below.


Young Performer(s) of the Year / Jeune artiste(s) de l'année:

  • Abigale for/pour Different Roads
  • Fiddelium for/pour Lit Up
  • Mélodie LeBlanc, Charlotte LeBlanc & Rosalie LeBlanc (La Famille LeBlanc) for/pour Perdrais-je mon temps… (Would I be losing my time…)
  • Mia Kelly for/par Garden Through the War
  • Paige Penney for/pour Game Changer
  • The Trilogy for/pour Irish Millie

New/Emerging Artist(s) of the Year / Artiste(s) de la relève de l'année:

  • La Déferlance for/pour Le feu aux pourdres
  • Kaeley Jade for/pour Turpentine
  • Mia Kelly for/pour Garden through the War
  • Moonfruits for/pour Salt
  • Steven Taetz for/pour Late Bloom
  • Youngtree & the Blooms for/pour Youngtree & the Blooms

Contemporary Album of the Year / Album contemporain de l'année:

  • Colder Streams by/par the Sadies
  • Homemaker by/par Jill Barber
  • House of Dreams by/par the East Pointers
  • Kingmaker by/par Tami Neilson
  • Love Songs for the Long Game by/par NQ Arbuckle
  • Old News by/par Terra Spencer & Ben Caplan
  • Stand in the Joy by/par William Prince
  • TumbleWeedyWorld by/par Lynn Miles

Contemporary Singer of the Year / Chanteur contemporain de l'annee:

  • Joe Nolan for/pour Lost Verses
  • Julian Taylor for/pour Beyond the Reservoir
  • Kaeley Jade for/pour Turpentine
  • Suzie Vinnick for/pour Fall Back Home
  • Terra Spencer for/pour Old News

Global Roots Album of the Year / Album traditions du monde de l'annee:

  • Bamako by/par Sophie Lukacs
  • Refugee in the Sea by/par Tarek Ghiri
  • Ritual by/par Roberto López
  • Taraf Syriana by/par Taraf Syriana
  • Ubuntu by/par Empress Nyiringango

Traditional Singer of the Year / Chanteur traditionnel de l'annee:

  • François-Félix Roy for/pour Peines perdues
  • Hannah Shira Naiman for/pour The Wheels Won't Go
  • La Yeni for/pour Yarrow Under the Moon
  • Mary Beth Carty for/pour Crossing the Causeway
  • Tianna Lefebvre for/pour Roses

Traditional Album of the Year / Album traditionnel de l'annee:

  • A Celtic Celebration by/par the Bookends with the Stratford Symphony Orchestra
  • All It Brings by/par Jocelyn Pettit & Ellen Gira
  • Constellations by/par Meredith Moon
  • Crossing the Causeway by/par Mary Beth Carty
  • Le feu aux poudres by/par La Déferlance

French Songwriter(s) of the Year / Auteur-compositeur(s) francophone de l'annee:

  • Aleksi Campagne, Michelle Campagne for/par For the Giving / Sans rien donner
  • Catherine-Audrey Lachapelle, Léandre Joly-Pelletier for/par Là-bas-Veranda
  • Catherine Durand for/pour La maison orpheline
  • Éric Dion, André Lavergne for/par La nouvelle saison
  • Marie-Ève Laure for/pour Reviens

English Songwriter(s) of the Year / Auteur compositeur(s) anglophone de l'année:

  • Jacob Brodovsky for/pour I Love You and I'm Sorry
  • Luke Doucet & Melissa McClelland for/pour I'm Not Crying, You're Crying
  • Tim Chaisson, Koady Chaisson, Jake Charron, Colin MacDonald, Carleton Stone for/pour House of Dreams
  • Dave Gunning for/pour The Same Storm
  • Noah Derksen for/pour Sanctity of Silence
  • Noah Zacharin for/pour Points of Light

Indigenous Songwriter(s) of the Year / Auteur compositeur(s) autochtone de l'annee:

  • Cynthia Hamar for/pour Joint & Marrow
  • Kaeley Jade Wiebe for/pour Turpentine
  • Geneviève Toupin for/pour Maison vent
  • Kyle McKearney for/pour A Traveler's Lament
  • Qattuu for/pour Midnight Sun

Instrumental Composer of the Year / Compositeur(s) ou compositrice(s) de l'année:

  • Dario Montanino for/pour Rio Lyon
  • Don Ross for/pour Water
  • Lorie Wolf for/pour Fray
  • Nathan Smith, Emilyn Stam, John David Williams, Alan Mackie for/pour Beacons
  • Steve Dawson for/pour Phantom Threshold

Children's Album of the Year / Album jeunesse de l'année:

  • Going Back: Remembered and Remixed Family Fold Songs by/par Ginalina
  • Here Comes the Train by/par Mr. Ben
  • Minor Third by/par the Relative Minors
  • Primary by/par Darrelle London
  • Welcome to the Flea Circus by/par the Swinging Belles

Instrumental Group of the Year / Groupe instrumental de l'année:

  • Archetype Trad for/pour Explorer
  • Medusa for/pour Medusa
  • Queen Kong for/pour Fray
  • So Long Seven for/pour only elephants know her name
  • Vinta for/pour Beacons

Ensemble of the Year / Groupe de l'année:

  • The Bombadils for/pour Dear Friend
  • The East Pointers for/pour House of Dreams
  • Genticorum for/pour Au coeur de l'aube
  • Jackson Hollow for/pour Roses
  • Whitehorse for/pour I'm Not Crying, You're Crying

Vocal Group of the Year / Groupe vocal de l'année:

  • Basset for/pour In the Clay
  • Big Little Lions for/pour AMPM
  • Musique à bouches for/pour Il est grand temps
  • The Bombadils for/pour Dear Friend
  • Twin Flames for/pour Twin Flames Unplugged Live

Oliver Schroer Pushing the Boundaries Award / Prix Innovation musicale Oliver Schroer:

  • A Traveler's Lament by/par Kyle McKearney
  • Codex XXI by/par De Lònga
  • only elephants know her name by/par So Long Seven
  • Universal Echoes by/par Kuné
  • Weyn Allah by/par Al Qahwa

Producer(s) of the Year / Réalisateur(s) de l'année:

  • Drew Jurecka, Dan Rosenberg for/pour Silent Tears: The Last Yiddish Tango (Payadora Tango Ensemble)
  • Jeremy Ledbetter for/pour Seré Libre (Eliana Cuevas with the Angel Falls Orchestra)
  • Jill Barber, Erik P. H. Nielsen for/pour Homemaker (Jill Barber)
  • Kaitlin Milroy, Alex Millaire, Charles Fairfield, Olivier Fairfield for/pour Salt (Moonfruits)
  • Steve Dawson for/pour Eyes Closed, Dreaming (Steve Dawson)

Instrumental Solo Artist of the Year / Instrumentiste solo de l'année:

  • Aaron Collis for/pour Before Daylight in the Morning
  • Don Ross for/pour Water
  • Joy Lapps for/pour Girl in the Yard
  • Paul Pike for/pour Echoes of Our Ancestors
  • Steve Dawson for/pour Phantom Threshold
  • Troy McLaggan for/pour Wood, Steel & Bones

Solo Artist of the Year / Artiste solo de l'année:

  • Barbra Lica for/pour Imposter Syndrome
  • Dave Gunning for/pour The Same Storm
  • Julian Taylor for/pour Beyond the Reservoir
  • Julie Title for/pour After the Sun
  • William Prince for/pour Stand in the Joy

Single of the Year / Monoplage de l'année:

  • "Delaney's Dad" by/par Moira & Claire
  • "Have You Seen My Sister?" by/par Aruna and the Sirens + guests
  • "In 40 Years" by/par Barbra Lica
  • "Light Under the Door" by/par Zaac Pick
  • "Seeds" by/par Julian Taylor
  • "Tell Me I'm Not Dreaming" by/par the Bombadils
  • "When You Miss Someone" by/par William Prince
  • "Worth the Time" by/par Big Little Lions

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage