Alanis Morissette, Caroline Polachek, Corinne Bailey Rae to Be Honoured at Inaugural Resonator Awards

Catherine Marks, Laura Sisk and Jennifer Decilveo will also be celebrated at the event presented by We Are Moving the Needle

Photos (from left): Corinne Bailey Rae by Ulrike Rindermann, Alanis Morissette courtesy of Live Nation, Caroline Polachek by Nedda Afsari

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Jan 18, 2024

Alanis Morissette, Caroline Polachek, Corinne Bailey Rae, Catherine Marks, Laura Sisk and Jennifer Decilveo are being honoured at the inaugural Resonator Awards — by nonprofit We Are Moving the Needle, which works toward gender equity among producers and engineers — on January 30.

The invite-only event will take place at Beauty & Hollywood, with boygenius, Jack Antonoff, Ariel Rechtshaid and FLETCHER among those set to present the awards. (Marks was a producer and engineer on the record, while Sisk is a frequent Antonoff collaborator on albums like Lana Del Rey's Did you know that there's a tunnel under Ocean Blvd and Taylor Swift's Midnights.)

"This inaugural Resonator Awards invites the music community to come together and connect in a profound commitment to advancing gender inclusivity in the studio," acclaimed mastering engineer and We Are Moving the Needle founder Emily Lazar said in a statement.

She continued, "This is more than a celebration, this is an historic moment where we will shine a light on a set of phenomenal creators — not because they are women, but because they are powerful producers, engineers and artists whose work from behind the console has inspired us all. Actions speak louder than words, and this moment not only increases visibility, access, and representation, it inspires the next generation of talent to break barriers and reinvent the future of the industry."

The awards will also recognize the first inductees into the Resonator Hall of Fame, honouring engineers and producers that have "paved the way," which include Alicia Keys, Leslie Ann Jones, Darcy Proper, Trina Shoemaker, Ann Mincieli, Claudia Brant, Linda Perry, Sylvia Robinson, Marcella Araica, Lenise Bent, Lynne Earls, Angela Piva, Susan Rogers, Trina Shoemaker, Pat Sullivan and Terri Winston.

Furthermore, music executives Michael Goldstone (of Mom+Pop) and Christine Thomas (of Dolby Labs) will be presented with Resonator Impact Awards for their commitment to gender equity. SiriusXM host and journalist Jenny Eliscu will host the event, empowered by EqualizeHer.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage