Ace Frehley Taps Paul Stanley, Slash, Lita Ford for 'Origins Vol. 1'

Ace Frehley Taps Paul Stanley, Slash, Lita Ford for 'Origins Vol. 1'
Ace Frehley is back with a new solo album, and he's brought a familiar friend along with him. The rock guitarist's forthcoming covers set Origins Vol. 1 features a guest vocal from his old Kiss bandmate Paul Stanley, marking the first recording to feature the two together since the late '90s.

Due April 15 through eOne Music, the collection finds Frehley tackling a number of tracks that inspired him in his formative years. The 12-song set features covers of classic rock staples like Cream's "White Room" and the Rolling Stones' "Street Fighting Man," with other artists honoured by Frehley including Jimi Hendrix, Steppenwolf, Thin Lizzy, Led Zeppelin, the Kinks and the Troggs.

Notably, Paul "Starchild" Stanley pops up on a run-through of Free's "Fire and Water." This is the first time Stanley and Frehley have been on a studio recording together since the classic Kiss lineup's 1998 reunion album, Psycho Circus. Frehley would leave the band again shortly thereafter.

"I thought Paul did a fabulous vocal on it," Frehley told Rolling Stone. "He jumped at the chance to do this because it's something that's outside of Kiss and his character in Kiss, and it gave him a chance to, you know, sing. With Paul, you usually think of him singing in a slightly higher register and on 'Fire And Water,' he's singing deep from his diaphragm, and it's a real cool vocal. Everyone who's heard it just thinks it's the shit."

Stanley is not the only guest musician on the upcoming covers album, with other artists attached to the project including Slash, Lita Ford, guitarist John 5, and Pearl Jam six-stringer Mike McCready.

Interestingly, the album also features a new version of Kiss songs "Rock and Roll Hell" and "Parasite." The latter, which appeared on the band's sophomore set Hotter Than Hell, was written by Frehley but originally featured vocals from bassist Gene Simmons.

You'll find the tracklisting info and a stream of Frehley's take on Cream's "White Room" down below.

Origins Vol. 1:

1. White Room
2. Street Fighting Man
3. Spanish Castle Magic (ft. John 5)
4. Fire And Water (ft. Paul Stanley)
5. Emerald (ft. Slash)
6. Bring It On Home
7. Wild Thing (ft. Lita Ford)
8. Parasite (ft. John 5)
9. Magic Carpet Ride
10. Cold Gin (ft. Mike McCready)
11. Till The End Of The Day
12. Rock And Roll Hell