Youth Lagoon Announces Sophomore Album

Youth Lagoon Announces Sophomore Album
Youth Lagoon's 2011 album The Year of Hibernation established sensitive songwriter Trevor Powers as one of indiedom's most buzzed-about new talents, and now he's looking to make a similar splash with the follow-up. Curiously titled Wondrous Bughouse, this sophomore LP is due out on March 5 through Fat Possum.

The album was written in solitude following extensive touring behind The Year of Hibernation. In a statement, Powers explained that the new songs were inspired by "becoming more fascinated with the human psyche and where the spiritual meets the physical world."

The 10-song collection will be available in CD, vinyl and digital formats, and reportedly blends ideas of the metaphysical universe with pop music. "My mental state is usually pretty sporadic," Powers said. "A lot of this record was influenced by a fear of mortality but embracing it at the same time. Realizing that human life is only great because it is temporary. Experimenting with ideas about dimensions. I'm not a gifted speaker, so explaining things is difficult for me. But music always makes sense."

See the album cover above and the tracklist below.

Wondrous Bughouse:

1. Through Mind and Back
2. Mute
3. Attic Doctor
4. The Bath
5. Pelican Man
6. Dropla
7. Sleep Paralysis
8. Third Dystopia
9. Raspberry Cane
10. Daisyphobia