Women Reveal Sophomore Album Details

Women Reveal Sophomore Album Details
When we talked to Calgary four-piece Women in April, guitarist Chris Reimer mentioned that their sophomore release was still in its early stages, without any song titles or a working album title. That's obviously changed rather quickly, however, as they've now titled the album and its songs, and revealed all those other pertinent album-release details.

The record is called Public Strain, and will feature 11 new tracks of the experimental post-punk/pop hybrid they've made a name for. Like their self-titled debut, Public Strain was produced by Chad VanGaalen in his Calgary studio. As for the album's sound, Reimer said, "It's definitely a different feeling album, and I'd say it's a bit heavier in a way."

Flemish Eye will release Public Strain in Canada on September 28, while Jagjaguwar will release it internationally on August 23 and in the United States on September 28. Women will play two shows at NXNE next week, as well as a show for Sled Island. All concerts are listed below.

Public Strain:

1. "Can't You See"

2. "Heat Distraction"

3. "Narrow With the Hall"

4. "Penal Colony"

5. "Bells"

6. "China Steps"

7. "Untogether"

8. "Drag Open"

9. "Locust Valley"

10. "Venice Lockjaw"

11. "Eyesore"

Tour dates:

6/17 Toronto, ON - the Great Hall (NXNE)
6/18 Toronto, ON - Silver Dollar (NXNE)
7/1 Calgary, AB - Republik (Sled Island)