Wild Nothing Announce 'Empty Estate' EP, Premiere New Video

Wild Nothing Announce 'Empty Estate' EP, Premiere New Video
Dream-pop escapist Jack Tatum and his Wild Nothing project delivered their sophomore LP Nocturne just last summer, but the outfit are now ready to move forward with a new EP titled Empty Estate. The seven-song set drops May 14 in North America via Captured Tracks and a day earlier in the UK through Bella Union.

A press release explains that the EP was recorded over a 10-day stretch this past January at Brooklyn's Gary's Electric studio by Al Carlson. Apparently the sessions found Tatum "exploring new sounds, new instruments and a new voice for Wild Nothing."

"This is a record that happened very fast for me," Tatum said in a statement. "We had just gotten back from a particularly long European tour last November, our first supporting Nocturne, and I was feeling a lot of things. I found myself struggling with what it meant to be a musician, with what music in general meant to me and what part I could possibly play in it. Playing the same songs every night for months left me bored with myself. But when I got home, for the first time in awhile it suddenly seemed that the pressure was off. We didn't have any tours planned for several months and I started to remember again why I love music in the first place."

WIld Nothing have dropped a vid for new tune "A Dancing Shell," which wraps airy guitar plinks, wry sing-speak and sensual sax skronks into an electro-funk-flecked confection. You can check out the tripped-out geometric clip up down below, and Empty Estate's similarly themed cover art up above.

The limited CD and LP editions of Empty Estate include an obi strip, illustrated insert, red vinyl, poster, hand-numbered envelope, two sticker pages, a button and slap bracelet.

Empty Estate:

1. The Body In Rainfall

2. Ocean Repeating (Big-eyed Girl)

3. On Guyot

4. Ride

5. Data World

6. A Dancing Shell

7. Hachiko