WHOOP-Szo Get DOOMSQUAD, Ice Cream, Zachary Gray for 'Warrior Remixes' EP

Listen to their new "Cut Your Hair" remix by Zoon

BY Allie GregoryPublished May 25, 2020

After having to cancel their massive North American tour earlier this year, WHOOP-Szo have been spending their time in quarantine assembling a new EP of remixes culled from their acclaimed 2019 record, Warrior Down. Warrior Remixes is due to arrive on June 5 via You've Changed Records.

The remix EP features contributions by fellow Canadian acts like Zoon, DOOMSQUAD, Ice Cream, Zachary Gray, AG47 (nêhiyawak) and more.

In a statement, WHOOP-Szo's Adam Sturgeon explained the following of the new EP: 

Warrior Down was a record that was a long time coming. At times it felt like nobody would touch the finished album; "It's too heavy" from the indies and "It's not heavy enough" from the metalheads. We've never really played into either of those narratives and so when the pandemic hit we decided to switch gears entirely. We had already been working and reworking a version of our song "Cut Your Hair" and were craving some interaction from our space of self-quarantine after cancelling well over 50 shows. We decided to reach out to contemporaries who also do their "own thing" in the electronic world and before we knew it we had an EP's worth of Warrior Down alterations. Each song provides a new take on songs from Warrior Down, but also covers a wide range of electronic subgenres in the process. 

All proceeds of sales from the EP will go towards London, ON's LIFE*SPIN coronavirus relief charity, which aims to aid food insecure families, seniors and expectant mothers who normally rely on food banks, breakfast programs and other meal-providing initiatives.

Today, the band have shared the first single from the EP, Zoon's remix of "Cut Your Hair," which you can hear below.

Ahead of the record's release, you can get a sneak peek of Warrior Remixes during WHOOP-Szo's listening party hosted by Exclaim! on June 4. Stay tuned for more details about the upcoming livestream as they unfold.

Warrior Remixes:

1. Cut Your Hair (Zoon Remix)
2. The Noisy Mountain
3. Amaruq (Jesney Remix)
4. 6.1 // 6.2 (Ice Cream Remix)
5. Amaruq (AG47 Remix)
6. Amaruq (DOOMSQUAD Remix)
7. Cut Your Hair (Zachary Gray Remix)

Pre-order Warrior Remixes.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage