Water from Your Eyes Announce New Album, Share Lead Single "Barley"

'Everyone's Crushed' arrives May 26

BY Kaelen BellPublished Feb 28, 2023

Brooklyn's Water from Your Eyes — the art-pop project of Rachel Brown and Nate Amos — have announced their new record Everyone's Crushed, arriving May 26 on Matador

Alongside the announcement, the duo have also shared glitchy, propulsive lead single "Barley," which comes attached to a video directed and edited by Brown. 

"'Barley' is a rhythmic sound collage experiment drawing from modern classical, classic rock, and dance music," the band said in a statement. "The lyrics suggest repeated futile attempts at attaining the unattainable and allude to Sting and Sonic Youth. The video mirrors these concepts in scope, texture, and variety  — juxtaposing feelings of entrapment and late stage capitalism against the sense of freedom inherent to the vast American landscape. Despite all this heady bullshit the song is, at its core, fun."

The song has a distinctly early-to-mid-2000s sense of wildness to it, harkening back to the days of bizarro blog-hype indie pop. Over the sour guitars and pummeling rhythm, Brown deadpans "One two three / Counter / You're a cool thing count mountains," referencing Sonic Youth's "Kool Thing." 

The pair's last album was 2021's Structure. Check out the video for "Barley," plus the Everyone's Crushed tracklist below. 

Everyone's Crushed:

1. Structure
2. Barley
3. Out There
4. Open
5. Everyone's Crushed
6. True Life
7. Remember Not My Name
8. 14
9. Buy My Product

Latest Coverage